A to B

The purpose of this assignment was to show an object moving from point A to point B in 30 seconds or less using all three of the following types of cuts:

1. Match cut – a cut from one shot to another where the composition of the two shots are matched by the action or subject and subject matter

2. Jump Cut – a single continuous sequential shot of a subject is broken into two parts, with a piece of footage being removed in order to render the effect of jumping forward in time

3. Cutaway – the interruption of a continuously filmed action by inserting a view of something else. It is usually followed by a cut back to the first shot

This video features my boyfriend, Saul. We shot the video outside of his apartment on a Sunday evening in October of 2020. Even though the assignment was due the following day, I still had no idea what I was going to turn in when I pulled up to his place with my camera. I knew that I wanted him to be on his skateboard, but that was about as far as I’d got. An earlier idea I had was for the two of us to skate past one another – him on his skateboard, and myself on my roller skates – but as I was (and still am) an inexperienced skater, I figured it best to not handle expensive camera equipment while on roller skates. I opted instead to stand stationary in front of his front gate while he skated past me.

Leave a comment